Where oh where has she gone?
Sunday, Dec. 15, 2002 - 4:23 p.m.

It was not bad enough that she was missing, the police thought I had killed her.

About two years ago, I was engaged to be married, had lots of friends, and two successful businesses going. I was on top of the world.

I had first met her when she was about 8 years old. I was her Sunday School teacher. Our lives intertwined for the next 20 years or so in ways neither of us could have forseen.

Then one night, some friends said they had someone they wanted me to meet. I had no interest in meeting anyone for their intended purposes. They thought I needed romance in my life. Just to appease them, I went with them for a drink.

We walked in, and there she sat. We were properly introduced, and neither of us let on just how familiar we were with one another.

As the evening went on, she and I exchanged progressively more outrageous comments until our friends finally realized this was not our first meeting. I was glad I had decided to "meet" her. At the end of the evening, I told her that as long as we were now properly introduced, we might as well have a date.

One thing led to another, and we became engaged, wondering why we had never "found" one another earlier in our lives.

And then it happened. We had just had an argument, and she disappeared.

At first, I was angry, and glad she was gone. It happened from time to time, and like clockwork, she would call me in an hour so we could resume our lives with cooler heads.

She never called. When I tried to reach her, she could not be found.

When you have a missing person in your life, it is a pain of the most miserable kind. At first there is worry and then the true anguish sets in.

It grows like a cancer, until it consumes your everyday thoughts. Will you ever see them again? Are they looking at the sky and seeing the same moon you see? Are they alive?

As if this were not enough, let's add being a suspect in her disappearance.

How would it feel to be told repeatedly by the detective "As hunting season is coming up, we are sure someone will find her body. We will find her body with the resources we have assigned to this case."

How about we will find her alive?

As a result of all this, I lost control of my life, and my businesses. I became homeless, and distrustful of all of my former friends.

Though it seems a bit late, I am rebuilding all from scratch.

previous - next

Indy - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
ain't that a bitch - Tuesday, Apr. 07, 2009
Did I say Lapse of time? - Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009
Looks like Saskatchewan to me - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008
- - Monday, Nov. 17, 2008


Latest Entry
Archive
Guestbook
Notes
E-Mail
Profile
Rings
Diaryland

Doors
My Favorites
Stuff
Myspace
dcalienz onadventure ------------------


speak-out