Looking Past The Surface
Saturday, Dec. 21, 2002 - 2:15 p.m.

I always admire those with the ability to see beyond the surface, and feel compelled to somehow record those visions for the rest of us to see.

Isn't that what an artist does? Whether their medium is paint, or design, or any of the many forms of expression, it is a view from the eyes of another person.

My mother told me often that everyone is an artist. She said some don't know it, and many never discover their particular niche in self expression.

Perspective is a tool used by artists to create depth in a work.

Could the use of perspective be useful in our own "works" of art? Isn't the way we live out our lives one of our "works"?

Does a greater perspective applied to my "work" give it more depth? I believe so.

One of the things I enjoy about DLand is the ability to add the color of the many artists that paint their own word pictures, to my own perspective.

Some speak with humor. Some speak with pain. Some are complex. Some are quite simple with no frills.

One thing I'm sure of. Beneath the surface of every "work" found, lies a vision of an artists perspective, intentional or not.

Though some perspectives may not match mine, I appreciate their expression.

previous - next

Indy - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
ain't that a bitch - Tuesday, Apr. 07, 2009
Did I say Lapse of time? - Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009
Looks like Saskatchewan to me - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008
- - Monday, Nov. 17, 2008


Latest Entry
Archive
Guestbook
Notes
E-Mail
Profile
Rings
Diaryland

Doors
My Favorites
Stuff
Myspace
dcalienz onadventure ------------------


speak-out