Thank you for a Christmas to remember.
Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2002 - 8:10 p.m.

When I look back on the memories of Christmas' past, I have many wonderful memories. From my childhood and for much of my adult life, it just seemed a magical time of the year. As a child, I knew it was the only day that my father would not hit me or put me down in any way.

I always loved the music, and baking goodies with my mom, and later with my children and wife. It just seemed to me that everyone was a little nicer during the season. A little more thoughtful. A little more tolerant.

I formed a life long habit starting in childhood of personally making a gift by my hands for those on my list. I passed this custom on to my children.

I bought gifts as well, and others bought gifts for me. The ones I always seemed to treasure most were those one of a kind homemade things that often had no value, while at the same time being priceless. Those were gifts made from the heart. A portion of the givers' self given to me.

I kept every one of them, and amassed quite a collection of treasures on the trail my life has taken. I used to look at them all when Christmas came around. A collection of pieces of lives of those I loved.

About 12 or so years ago, I lost most of the ones I loved in that special way. I spent the next few years wandering from one end of the country, never staying more than 2 or 3 days in any one spot. Most of those years I returned home to look at those treasures around Christmas, and remember the lives of the givers. With sorrow, I say that those treasures were lost as well a little over three years past.

I learned over the last decade that it was the people I loved, and that loved me, that made Christmas time a special time of the year. Though I wish they were not all gone, I have resigned myself to the fact that they never will return.

With the exception of the year that I was engaged, I have had no one to make presents for, and have had none given to me. I missed that greatly. This year is different. I am happier than I have been for a long time. I even went out to look at the lights for a while tonight.

And the thing that made this year different is the same thing that made all of the other Christmas times so special. It is people.

I have found your gifts to me in my guestbook, and in my notes. I have found your gifts in conversations we have had. And I have found your gifts to me in email.

The love and thoughtfulness I have found here in DLand is much appreciated. It is like a treasure chest I can look at whenever I want.

Thank all of you, and I hope your Christmas is as happy as mine.

----------

Thank you for your help.

Thank you for your hugs.

Thank you for being who you are.

previous - next

Indy - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
ain't that a bitch - Tuesday, Apr. 07, 2009
Did I say Lapse of time? - Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009
Looks like Saskatchewan to me - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008
- - Monday, Nov. 17, 2008


Latest Entry
Archive
Guestbook
Notes
E-Mail
Profile
Rings
Diaryland

Doors
My Favorites
Stuff
Myspace
dcalienz onadventure ------------------


speak-out