JOURNEYS VIA WORDS
Monday, Dec. 30, 2002 - 11:09 p.m.

Sometimes I wonder what I have missed. I read a lot of peoples thoughts here in dland. There is more than anyone could ever read in an entire life in this huge diary community.

I try not to merely scatch the surface when I visit another's writings. I know that people can change so drastically from one entry to another.

When I was a little boy, I remember so well the first time I ever walked into a library. It was in a small town school in the US. I had been reading for as long as I could remember. I am told my mother held up flash cards for me when I was in my crib. My earliest memories of reading are from when I was around 5 years old. We had a 12 volume set of encyclopedias. They were not very large books, the kind they sell at the checkout stands in some grocery stores on a weekly basis. Or at least they used to. I read them all from cover to cover that year.

Well, when I walked into that library, I think I needed to sit on my hands to keep from clapping. I had never seen so many books in my whole life. I told my mother that I couldn't wait until I had read every single one of them.

I'm not sure when I realised it, I do remember there came a time when I knew that wasn't possible.

I have taken many wonderful journeys by way of books in my life. I have taken many through the words of those I find here in dland as well.

Like the WHO said though, I won't get fooled again. I know I can't read them all. I still will take a shot at it though.

previous - next

Indy - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
ain't that a bitch - Tuesday, Apr. 07, 2009
Did I say Lapse of time? - Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009
Looks like Saskatchewan to me - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008
- - Monday, Nov. 17, 2008


Latest Entry
Archive
Guestbook
Notes
E-Mail
Profile
Rings
Diaryland

Doors
My Favorites
Stuff
Myspace
dcalienz onadventure ------------------


speak-out