Too Many Toys, Too Little Knowledge
Friday, Dec. 27, 2002 - 10:55 a.m.

I have deleted some things that I wish I hadn't. I lost some things by pushing the wrong keys. I bought some cd-rw discs to back up my computer, and I can't even figure out how to do it.

I'm not computer illiterate, so it is frustrating when I can't do something that should be so simple. I think I need one of those dwim keys on my keboard. I know I have a pibcac problem with my computer. dwim translates to -do what I mean-. pibcac I hear means -problem is between computer and chair-.

I have a sitemeter thingie on this diary. It is fun to play with. It gives me a lot more information about this diary than I understand. Or even want. One thing I like about it is the time zone feature that shows what part of the world people reading my diary are from. It just amazes me to see that someone from the Russian Federated time zone, or China coast time, would be reading a diary generated from midwest, USA.

It also tells what url the reader comes from like the stats section of dland. In my zeal for playing with this toy, I have ended up in some readers diaries. Now I don't mean it tells any personal info like the url people come from is the address they were at when they came to my diary. If it is personal, like add an entry or change a template or something, it doesn't give me access to others, just to my own.

So if I end up in someone's diary or notes, or guestbook, it's just because I am just being nosy, and seeing what they have to say to the world. I have found some of my favorite diaries this way. And I have found some very scary diaries this way as well, lol. I guess what I am trying to say, is the sitemeter and stats thingies don't allow me to rummage through anyones computer, just through whatever they write to the world.

So I am sorry, if I scared anyone. I may have even showed up while you were reading my diary. It's not fate. It's not karma. It's just me playing with my toys, and seeing what you have to say. So if anyone is interested in checking it out, just click on the numbers under my background picture. You can see what sitemeter is all about. And if I left any of my stuff unlocked, and you see any of it, oops. Just be sure to clean up the joint when you leave, please.

I wish there was a dland etiquette faq section somewhere. If there is, and you are reading this, please take a second to note me it's location.

Sometimes I think I leave too many notes for other people. I am not doing it as a plea to be noted back. Just making a comment. Usually about what I have just read there.

I added a lot of rings, and one of the pictures turned my diary links a different color. So I changed the html on it thanks to Lex. I like to use that page, and go read random ring members. I don't like how long it takes to load the pictures however. I can only imagine how long it would take with a dial up connection. I am going to change the code, and lose most of the pictures on it. If I get booted from any rings for that. Oh well. I try to have respect for authority. I just think I will retain control of my diary, and how it looks, and how easy it is to use.

There are a couple of rings I am dying to start, as soon as I figure out how.

Sometimes I have a little trouble with short term memory. I will be glad when my prescription runs out as I think it triggers this. Now what was I saying? hehe. Thank God for notepad. Now if I could only remember what I called that note.

I am not a hacker.

I am not a stalker.

I am not desperate.

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do.

I'm losing my mind, Dave. I can feel it.

If the 2001 references aren't familiar..Not to worry, I'm not really losing my mind. I lost that a long time ago. I'm outta here......

previous - next

Indy - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
ain't that a bitch - Tuesday, Apr. 07, 2009
Did I say Lapse of time? - Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009
Looks like Saskatchewan to me - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008
- - Monday, Nov. 17, 2008


Latest Entry
Archive
Guestbook
Notes
E-Mail
Profile
Rings
Diaryland

Doors
My Favorites
Stuff
Myspace
dcalienz onadventure ------------------


speak-out