Wind Beneath My Wings
Saturday, Feb. 08, 2003 - 11:32 p.m.

Did you ever know that you're my hero,

and everything I would like to be?

I can fly higher than an eagle,

for you are the wind beneath my wings.

-bette midler..wind beneath my wings.

I remember one day when she told me she would go fishing with me. I thought I was the luckiest boy in the world. It didn't matter what I wanted to do, or be involved with, she was right there to encourage me and ease my way.

We dug up some worms from the garden. And we put them in a tin can with some wet leaves so they would not dry out. We got our fishing gear around, and walked the mile and a half to the quarry where we knew the good fishing was.

I was nine years old at the time, and I am not sure why this particular day sticks in my memory. I just know it does. We caught a lot of fish that day, and talked. We talked about going on a trip together. I told her I would take her everywhere she wanted to go.

Then we walked back home, where we cleaned the fish, and got them ready to eat that night for dinner. And we ate, and did the dishes together.

After that, she began painting a picture. It was a picture of the stone quarry where we had fished that day. And I read a book about the adventures of Marco Polo.

Well a lot of time has passed since that day. And I never got to take her on all those trips. Yet I always remember that day, if I think long about her. I think it was because we were together start to finish that day.

Yeah, she knew she was my hero, and everything I wanted to be. I could fly higher than an eagle. Cause she is the wind beneath my wings.

I love you Mom, and I am missing you today.

-david

previous - next

Indy - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
ain't that a bitch - Tuesday, Apr. 07, 2009
Did I say Lapse of time? - Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009
Looks like Saskatchewan to me - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008
- - Monday, Nov. 17, 2008


Latest Entry
Archive
Guestbook
Notes
E-Mail
Profile
Rings
Diaryland

Doors
My Favorites
Stuff
Myspace
dcalienz onadventure ------------------


speak-out