DANCING WITH MY BROTHER
Friday, Jan. 10, 2003 - 9:18 a.m.

I just keep thinking about a movie that I have listed as a favorite. It is called Rainman. It stars Tom Cruise, and Dustin Hoffman.

They play brothers in the movie. Charlie Babbitt..Cruise is in the opening scene of the movie, and he plays a wheeler dealer, luxury car importer, with a heart of stone. He fancies himself as a mover and shaker, and believes people are merely rungs in a ladder to where he wants to go.

Charley finds himself in a bit of a predicament that threatens to bring his high lifestyle to ruin. He discovers that there is a family trust and it is to support a brother that he never even knew he had....Raymond Babbitt, played by Hoffman.

So Charley sort of kidnaps his brother and sets off on a car trip across America to California, in an attempt to cash in on the trust money.

Raymond is autistic, and as such is a creature of habit.

As their adventure unfolds, the scenery changes, and Charley changes. Raymond however seemingly is incapable of change.

I fell in love with Raymond almost from the start. I was disgusted with Charley almost from the start.

By the end of the movie, Charley had changed. He learned he could not force change upon his brother, and he learned to accept Raymond as a person, and not a means to an end. And through it all, Raymond was still Raymond.

There is a scene in which Charley in a Vegas hotel room, teaches Raymond to slow dance. It is one of the most touching scenes I have ever seen in a movie. To see the love of brother for brother brings tears to my eyes even as I write these words.

Looking back over my life, I see a lot of Charley in my life. Some of it makes me glad, and some of it makes me sad. I am thankful that I also see a lot more of Raymond in me as time passes.

I no longer seek the thrill of the deal as I once did. I no longer seek change for the excitement of it. I am learning to welcome the comfort of the familiar. And like Charley, I am learning to accept the things that I either cannot change, or have the energy to change.

Sometimes, I miss travelling the world, and the bright lights of Vegas, and money, and power.

I think for the rest of my time in this life, I will just dance with my brother.

previous - next

Indy - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
ain't that a bitch - Tuesday, Apr. 07, 2009
Did I say Lapse of time? - Saturday, Feb. 21, 2009
Looks like Saskatchewan to me - Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008
- - Monday, Nov. 17, 2008


Latest Entry
Archive
Guestbook
Notes
E-Mail
Profile
Rings
Diaryland

Doors
My Favorites
Stuff
Myspace
dcalienz onadventure ------------------


speak-out